GPL Announces Teams for 9th Annual Land Rover Palm Beach International Gay Polo Tournament

Wellington, Fla. – Mar. 27, 2018 – The Gay Polo League (GPL) enthusiastically announces the members of the four teams that will compete in the 9th Annual Land Rover Palm Beach International Gay Polo Tournament. Quarterbacked by four world-class professionals, each team looks to be a contender in this year’s tournament. With both LGBTQ and non-LGBTQ players from across the globe competing, the teams are a celebration of the message of diversity and inclusion that is at the heart of the Gay Polo League tournament.

The four sponsors of the 2017 GPL Tournament teams return in 2018.

Now in its eighth year of sponsorship, Catherine Malone’s Cedar Crest Stables will also be playing to maintain status as the 2017 champion of The Senators Cup. Co-piloted by local polo professionals 4-goaler Joey Casey and 1.5-goaler Tiffany Busch, the team will feature players first-timer Michael Sahakian and Ken Mayer, who returns to the field to add another GPL tournament to his list of matches.

2017 Seminole Casino Coconut Creek team

Returning sponsor Seminole Casino Coconut Creek, reigning 2017 Founders Cup champion, will once again field a team to vie for the top spot in the 2018 tournament in hopes of retaining its title. Players Stacie Simpkins, Gus Larrosa and Chip McKenney will be led by 4-goal pro Matt Coppola, no stranger to International Polo Club Palm Beach as a Wellington resident. Simpkins along with GPL Founder and President McKenney are returning to the tournament, while Larrosa is a newcomer to playing in the GPL event.

Players Jed Pearsall, Daniel Bain and Teddy Rekai-Nuttall, along with famed South African 6-goaler Sugar Erskine, will lead the charge on behalf of Goshen Hill, the multi-time sponsor owned by Caroline Moran. Both Persall and Bain are veterans of the GPL tournament, while Rekai-Nuttall will be making his first appearance in a GPL match.

2017 Cedar Crest Stables team

The fourth team, RSM US, LLP will be comprised of Bruce Schrieber, Mark Bennett and Phil Tremo, led by Argentine professional 6-goaler Nacho Badiola. Longtime players and GPL supporters Bennett and Tremo will be returning for the 2018 tournament, and will welcome new team member Schrieber during his first GPL event.

With little more than a month until the 9th Annual Land Rover Palm Beach International Gay Polo Tournament, the excitement is really heating up! Purchase tickets now at to be a part of the most festive spring extravaganza in Wellington!


Subscribe & Join

Phelps Media Group

Founded in 2002 by Olympian Mason Phelps, Jr., PMG specializes in sports branding, public relations, event coverage, media strategy, web design and social media.

All photography may only be used in conjunction with a related press release. We do not sell our email lists or share our lists with other companies or individuals.