USET Foundation Announces Marilyn Little as 2018 Pinnacle Cup Trophy Recipient

Lexington, Ky. – May 7, 2018 – The USET Foundation is pleased to announce that this year’s recipient of the Pinnacle Cup Trophy at the 2018 Land Rover® Kentucky Three-Day Event CCI4*, which took place April 26–29 at the Kentucky Horse Park, is Marilyn Little of Frederick, Maryland.

Little rode her mount RF Scandalous, who is fondly known as “Kitty” in the barn, to a third place finish overall and was the highest ranked American rider, which ultimately earned her the highly coveted Pinnacle Cup Trophy. This marks Little’s first time winning the trophy during her career. Previous winners of the award include Lauren Kieffer, Phillip Dutton, Buck Davidson and Allison Springer.

Little and RF Scandalous, who is co-owned by Jacqueline B. Mars, Phoebe and Michael Manders and Robin Parsky, started off with a dressage score of 24.8 penalties on the first day of competition. The talented pair then crossed the finish line after the cross-country phase with only 32.8 penalties, a score they were able to maintain with a clear show jumping round on the final day.

These performances moved them into the third place position to win the Land Rover/USEF CCI4* Eventing National Championship as the highest-placed American with a score of 32.8 penalties.

Of the 13-year-old Oldenburg mare’s personality, Little said, “She is a diva and is notoriously a terror in the stable, but she knows her people. Her groom is with her at all times, and she’s very trusting. She has an incredible sense of the moment and loves performing for a crowd. She’s a real princess, which was a concern early on as we wondered if she was too delicate, fragile and careful for eventing. She’s become a courageous horse and gives you 150 percent.”

Previous Pinnacle Cup Trophy winners:

2017: Phillip Dutton and Mr. Medicott
2016: Lauren Kieffer and Veronica
2015: Phillip Dutton and Fernhill Cubalawn
2014: Lauren Kieffer and Veronica
2013: Buck Davidson and Ballynoe Castle RM
2012: Allison Springer and Arthur
2011: Sinead Halpin and Manoir de Carneville
2010: Phillip Dutton and Woodburn
2009: Buck Davidson and My Boy Bobby
2008: Phillip Dutton and Connaught
2007: Phillip Dutton and Connaught
2006: Heidi White Carty and Northern Spy
2005: Kim Severson and Winsome Adante
2004: Kim Severson and Winsome Adante
2003: Bruce O. Davidson, Jr. and Mystic Mike
2002: Kim Vinoski (Severson) and Winsome Adante
2001: David O’Connor and Giltedge
2000: David O’Connor and Rattle N Hum
1999: Karen O’Connor and Prince Panache
1998: Dorothy Crowell and Molokai

Previous to this date, the top American finisher was awarded the Gladstone Challenge Trophy.

The USET Foundation is a nonprofit organization that supports the competition, training, coaching, travel and educational needs of America’s elite and developing international and high performance horses and athletes in partnership with US Equestrian.

For more information on the USET Foundation, visit


Subscribe & Join

Phelps Media Group

Founded in 2002 by Olympian Mason Phelps, Jr., PMG specializes in sports branding, public relations, event coverage, media strategy, web design and social media.

All photography may only be used in conjunction with a related press release. We do not sell our email lists or share our lists with other companies or individuals.