McLain Ward Honored with Whitney Stone Cup at USET Foundation’s “Triumph in Tryon” Gala

Wellington, Fla. – Jan. 20, 2018 – The United States Equestrian Team (USET) Foundation is pleased to announce that show jumping veteran McLain Ward is the recipient of the 2018 Whitney Stone Cup.

“It’s a great honor,” said Ward on receiving the 2018 Whitney Stone Cup. “For us in particular, we had a difficult end to the season with losing Mr. Harrison. He was a great supporter of myself and my team. To be able to win an award such as this that recognizes our performance with his horses and others over the past season, including HH Azur winning the World Cup Final, makes it a little extra special. Also for myself personally — we lost Bill Steinkraus this year, who for me growing up was a great mentor particularly in regards to representing the team, so it’s a special year to be able to win this award not only for my team but in honor of those men.”

The award is presented annually to an active competitor who displays consistent excellence in international competition and high standards of sportsmanlike conduct, while serving as an ambassador for the United States and equestrian sport and exemplifying the team’s highest ideals and traditions.

Over the years, Ward has amassed a remarkable record of eight total Olympic, World Equestrian Games and Pan American Games medals, half of which are gold medals. In 2017, Ward added to this impressive record by winning the coveted Longines FEI World Cup™ Jumping Final in Omaha, Nebraska, aboard HH Azur after jumping the only five consecutive clear rounds throughout the entire event. In addition to his individual title, Ward helped the U.S. team to a podium finish at CSIO4* Ocala with Rothchild and later in the season anchored Team USA at CHIO Aachen to produce a double-clear finish on HH Azur and secure a hard-fought second place finish.

Ward yet again proved he can handle the pressure of the anchor position by delivering two crucial and fast clear rounds that were essential to putting the U.S. team on the podium for a silver medal finish at the FEI Nations Cup™ Jumping Final at CSIO5* Barcelona.

Ward’s consistent record in 2017 landed him among the top three in the world on the Longines Rankings list every month since April when he held the No. 1 spot.

Ward continues to be an incredible asset to the U.S. team both on and off the field of play. He is an active member of the US Equestrian (USEF) Jumping Sport Committee and continually pushes to improve and grow the sport. A dedicated and avid student of sport still to this day, Ward is also committed to passing along his knowledge and passion for detail and excellence to the next generation. He judged the 2017 Platinum Performance/USEF Show Jumping Talent Search Finals – East fresh off his stellar Nations Cup Final performance and gave back to the sport by sharing with up-and-coming talent about what it takes to make it to the top of the sport during a learning session held at the USET Foundation headquarters.

Ward was presented with the Whitney Stone Cup during the USET Foundation’s “Triumph in Tryon” gala, a benefit to support U.S. equestrian teams at the upcoming 2018 FEI World Equestrian Games™, on Jan. 19 in Wellington, Florida.

Whitney Stone Cup Winners:

The Whitney Stone Cup is awarded in honor of the late Whitney Stone, who served as president and chairman of the board of the USET from 1953 to 1973. Mr. Stone was instrumental in the creation of a civilian equestrian team when the Army retired from competitive horse sports after 1948. Previous Whitney Stone Cup winners are:

1980 – Michael Matz
1981 – James C. Wofford
1982 – Norman Dello Joio
1983 – Melanie Smith (Taylor)
1984 – Carole Grant
1985 – Joe Fargis
1986 – Conrad Homfeld
1987 – Katie Monahan Prudent
1988 – Bruce O. Davidson
1989 – Gregory A. Best
1990 – William Long
1991 – Hap Hansen
1992 – Lana DuPont Wright
1993 – Carol Lavell
1994 – J. Michael Plumb
1995 – Robert Dover
1996 – Anne Kursinski
1997 – Leslie Burr Howard
1998 – David O’Connor
1999 – Valerie Kanavy
2000 – Karen O’Connor
2001 – Tucker Johnson
2002 – Guenter Seidel
2003 – Peter Wylde
2004 – Debbie McDonald
2005 – Chris Kappler
2006 – Elizabeth (Beezie) Madden
2007 – Elizabeth (Beezie) Madden
2008 – Miranda (Randy) Caldwell
2009 – Steffen Peters
2010 – McLain Ward
2011 – Tucker S. Johnson
2012 – Christine McCrea
2013 – Rich Fellers
2014 – Elizabeth (Beezie) Madden
2015 – Chester Weber
2016 – Phillip Dutton
2017 – Laura Graves
2018 – McLain Ward

The USET Foundation is a nonprofit organization that supports the competition, training, coaching, travel and educational needs of America’s elite and developing international and high performance horses and athletes in partnership with US Equestrian.

For more information on the USET Foundation, visit


Subscribe & Join

Phelps Media Group

Founded in 2002 by Olympian Mason Phelps, Jr., PMG specializes in sports branding, public relations, event coverage, media strategy, web design and social media.

All photography may only be used in conjunction with a related press release. We do not sell our email lists or share our lists with other companies or individuals.